Total amounts due of less than $200 are not eligible for payment plans.
If more than thirty (30) days is needed to pay your fines and costs in full you may request a monthly payment plan. Use of the payment plan will result in a guilty conviction as required by law.
To request a payment plan you are required to:
- Fill out a Pay Plan Application/financial statment with Clerk;
- Must provide a state issued Driver’s License or Identification Card;
- Must make an appointment to appear before the judge.
An interview and verification of your information will be conducted by the clerk to determine eligibility to pay. The amount of payment and due dates will be determined by the judge.
It is YOUR responsibility to notify the court if you are unable to pay within the time allowed. You may request a court date and have an opportunity to explain your circumstances to the Judge if you need additional time to pay. If you are unable to pay due to indigence, you will be set on a court hearing to determine your ability to pay.
If your request for additional time to pay is granted, a one time $25.00 Time Payment Fee will be assessed to each violation as required by the State of Texas. Chapter 51 of the Texas Government code states “a $25.00 time payment fee is added to each violation when granted an extension to pay which exceeds 30 days. If any portion of the fines, fees, costs is paid after the 31st day from the date of judgment, a $25.00 time payment fee must be added”
If you fail to make your monthly payment as agreed, the payment plan will not be reinstated unless authorized by the Judge. There will be a Warrant issued for your arrest and a $50.00 warrant fee will be added to each violation where a balance is owed. Your warrant will be reported to the State of Texas, there may be additional fees added along with denial of the renewal of your Texas Driver’s License. You will not be able to renew your driver’s license until the total balance is paid in full.